Forking Mad+

Social Media Relationship

Do you have any good or bad stories from your relationship with social media or Internet communities?

Me: Mostly positive, I am pleased to say. I have discovered many great things, and people via socials. I've even met some in real life, who are now good friends.

I've been lucky enough to avoid any social trolls. Maybe it's not luck, maybe it's the way I choose to conduct myself online. I treat everyone online how I would in real life, and expect the same in return -- respect. I don't go online to cause controversy or intimidate other people and their views. We all have opinions, and we may not agree but it does not mean we are in any way entitled to go full-on-crazy just because we can hide behind some anonymity online.

I really only have one slight horror story online, and not via socials but I thought I'd share it nonetheless.

A few years ago, late on a Friday afternoon I received a phone call at work from one of my regular suppliers for computer equipment. She had the wisdom to call me to check an order I had placed earlier that day; the delivery of ten new laptops urgently on Saturday morning to an address she was unfamiliar with. I knew nothing of this 'order' and after a brief conversation, a whole story unfolded.

In summary, she had received a few emails during the week 'from' me enquiring about various products etc. Eventually culminating in the order on Friday. She knew my routine and she felt it was odd. So she called.

Someone had purchased a domain name which was very slightly different to our firm's correct address. They had cloned some of our main pages, but more importantly had taken my details and photograph from our firm's "Meet the Senior Team" pages, and constructed a new section, with me in it, slightly new email address, new phone number, new business address.

Honestly, I felt personally violated. Someone had taken time to understand my role, and had 'used' me.

The website section looked almost convincing. However, once you knew it was bogus you could spot some minor errors.

The laptops obviously were not delivered. I reported it to the police, as did my supplier, and nothing was ever heard of it again. Did the police follow up? Who knows! After about four weeks I took matters into my own hands and submitted a domain name trademark violation and got the site taken down. The name was then handed over to me as our firm's asset.

I was over the initial shock that Friday evening. It was not a personal attack on me -- I was just an innocent pawn in a game.

It makes you realise how easily someone can pass themselves off as you.

Since then, I am very cautious of any photos online of myself. When I moved to a new firm, I absolutely refused to allow my head-shot to appear on their About page. I also never post photos of me (or people generally) online in a public forum/socials.

I have nothing to hide as a person, but I have my own standards of decency and privacy and I try to stick to them.

#37/50 in the FiftyIn50 blogging challenge.

Comments?

#FiftyIn50