Forking Mad+

Re:Blogging Challenges: Are They Really Worth It?

This is my Reply Post to a recent blog post from Loren’s blog (it's a great read), in which they asked: Blogging Challenges: Are They Really Worth It?

I wanted to offer my thoughts.

I’ve been blogging for a long time, on and off (Forking Mad has been going for 12 years). Before that I wrote a Tech blog for almost ten years. I love writing and I enjoy interacting with people and posts.

However, sometimes life gets in the way, and you quickly fall from your blogging rhythm. More recently that has been my problem, but I started again a few months ago and as part of my randomness I found a ‘blogging prompts’ post and liked the idea. I decided to set my own challenge to do Fifty Posts in 50 days, just for my own personal experience. Then a few people joined, which was nice.

The prompts are fun, interesting, and do what it says on the tin – prompts me. They make me give some focus-time each day to think of my writing.

Loren suggests this takes the spontaneity out of it. For me, I disagree. As well as a daily prompt-blog, I also churn out totally random musings almost daily.

My writing for the prompts has always been genuine, and I think it allows me (and you) to explore different sides of me.

Just today I blogged about North Korea. Now that would not be my natural area to blog about, but I have views on it, and I enjoyed the thought process and the writing. It stimulated me, and hopefully interested my regular reader (yes, I think I have one – haha)

While I respect Loren’s view, I hope I bring enough to the table to interest people beyond prompts.

I thought I would offer an alternative view. Clearly lots of people agree with Loren, as the post currently sits at the top of the Trending List with 24 of those kudos up-arrow things!

And here ends my alternative view.

Your thoughts?



Community Echos

#ReplyPosts