Forking Mad+

My Typical Day

You might be surprised or shocked, but here goes.

I always rise at 6:15am. I feel refreshed and energised for the day. If I get up any later I am lethargic. Firstly I go for a quick run – usually an hour, no more, sometimes less if the weather is a little poor. Back home a shave, shower, teeth etc.

8am and I am powering through some overnight-oats, or muesli, and I check my schedule for the day. No coffee. I don’t drink coffee. Water is enough. 8:30 and I check in with my assistant to make sure there are no curve-balls for the day ahead.

I don’t generally go into the office – no need these days. By 9am I’m in my garden room, which is a cabin at the end of the garden. My sanctuary. I try to be strict with my day’s interruptions. I need time to work, not service queries. I only take calls between 11am and 1pm. I answer emails only for an hour in the morning. I work on my job the rest of the time. I skip lunch, but stop work at 6pm, having survived on water.

Dinner will be at 7:30pm. I devour the news after my meal. Around 9pm I set aside an hour every day to work on my memoirs. It’s important to keep them fresh. In years to come I will edit them significantly, but I jot down my musings for the day.

10pm and I read some kind of trashy novel. My escape. 11pm bed. Tomorrow is another day.

Ok, if you are still with me, and don’t think I am a total dick, I applaud you. None of the above is of course true. However, if you listen to any of these life coach influencer twats, that’s what they promote.

Here’s my reality.

Since I started working freelance, my days are generally quite varied. Some days I don’t work. Others a little. Many others a lot.

In summary, I am usually wide awake by 8am. I lie in bed, read the news online and play Wordle and Connections. I generally rise by 9am. Earlier if I have a morning meeting, but I do try to avoid scheduling 9am chats. Really, who wants one first thing? Let the world warm up and people read their emails.

As soon as I am up, I am straight in the shower. I can’t function until I’ve had a wash.

My shower-time is where my thoughts happen, and many of my best ideas. After breakfast I try to deal with these. It might just be emailing someone, or checking in on progress, or a brand new earth-shattering idea I just have to jot down!!

Breakfast is, 99% of the time, toast. I love toast.

I then juggle client time, and me time throughout the day depending on my workload. If I am engrossed in something I quite often forget to have lunch. If I remember, it will be around 2pm. If I forget, I am passing-out by 4pm and then I realise why. I am terrible at remembering to keep my fluids up and quite often have not had a drink of anything since the night before. I am getting better at keeping water at my desk, and will drink it if it is there.

I stop between 5 and 6pm to play with the dog in the garden and generally try to spend some time outdoors. My partner and I eat at 7:30pm or 8. I might faff a little more with work if something is pressing. If not, I work on my own projects, non-work related. I am always bursting with ideas on so many things. I usually write my blog articles in the evenings. I don’t watch TV much, so it doesn’t feature in a typical day.

I tend to go to bed around midnight. Very rarely is it earlier. I used to say to myself, “don’t go to bed the same day you get up”. It’s kind of stuck and I seem to find myself busy until midnight.

So there you are – my non-glamorous, real, typical day

There are 66 reference to the pronoun "I" in that article. I've never talked so much about me in a post!!

#35/50 in the FiftyIn50 blogging challenge.

Comments