Forking Mad+

Everyone is Beautiful

What is your all-time favourite story to tell from all the jobs you've held?

Not my career, but this one has stuck with me for many years. I used to help friends at farmers' markets. I recall one day I was selling cheese at my stall. And older lady was curious and walked towards my display. If I felt someone looked interested, I would try to engage with them and ask if they would like to try a sample from any of the range.

I can still picture her wearing an over-sized pink full-brimmed hat, a generous amount of lipstick, and blue eye makeup. Possibly a little more unusual in her arrangement, but I figured she was happy; she had made an effort in her own way to offer herself to the world. Who was I to judge?

I said to the lady, "Good morning beautiful, would you like to try some cheese?".

Her reaction: "No one has ever called me beautiful my whole life, and I am 64".

Quick as a flash, and without hesitation, I engaged in conversation with her. She told me that I had made her entire day. We had a nice little chat about nothing in particular.

She did not buy anything. I did not care. I felt honoured to have met her and I made her smile.

It's often a simple kind word that makes a difference.

That was my FiftyIn50 blogging prompt for today. #46/50

#FiftyIn50