Forking Mad+

Caring for a Cabbage

I was reading some of my old writing projects today. This is the prologue to a life story I started writing in 2017.

I never finished it, but have several chapters.

The Prologue

I have a new job. One for which I never applied, have no qualification or training, was never interviewed, nor was I short listed. I find myself the only candidate. I’m placed in a situation of no refusal.

Instantly I need to tool up and develop the skills for an unknown journey. This is real and there is no time to look in the rear-view mirror and admire the vista.

In the profession it is known as a CABG. Its full title being Coronary Artery Bypass Graft. It’s affectionately referred to as a cabbage. Joe Public will be more at ease with the term Heart Bypass.

One evening I received a phone call. It instantly altered everything and my journey began.

I started to document the key events as they unfolded. Initially this was an idea simply to give me a release, but it developed into a passion, and ultimately I felt empowered to share my story with others in the hope I can ease their burden.

This is my story: a complete novice, caring for someone with heart disease.

© 2017

I document my journey as I deal with the sudden news that my other half collapsed at work (in a hospital) on my birthday, and requires major heart surgery.

The end is positive but travelling to that point was challenging for us.

Comments